The first band on the internet and User Interfaces

March 17, 2006

I’m not sure how I found it but I’ve had the LHC: The First Band on the Web in my bookmarks for a while. The page shows what they claim is the first image to be posted on a webpage. I have no reason to doubt this, and a 2 second google search semi-confirmed this, how true it is I do not know!

User interface design has always interested me , I have never made an application with an overly impressive GUI but believe a GUI should be as simple as possible while still providing a little eye candy. Proberly the best example of GUI design that I have seen would have to be Apple. Apple have produced guidelines for interfaces and kept them updated to suit each new release (LISA),(OS X). I think designers could learn alot from these!

While on the topic of user interfaces I need to decide what desktop environment I am going to use when I next install Linux, KDE vs GNOME. I have used KDE with Mandrake 10 so I am leaning more to GNOME… We shall see.

2 Responses to “The first band on the internet and User Interfaces”


  1. You can install both KDE and Gnome on the same Linux system can’t you? You can with Mandrake, although I never actually got to see it because when I boot it jut gives me some text then a blank screen? I also agree, GUI must be simple but deliever some eye candy.

    -Billytheradponi

  2. elevate Says:

    Yeah you can , I was thinking it might be best to decide on an environment and stick to it. Thinking about it though I’d preoberly be best to just install them both and evaluate them myself properly. There is only so much you can get from images and reviews! I think you just helped me solve my question 😀


Leave a Reply

