Instant Messaging

May 13, 2006

Recently I have been thinking about what I like and look for in a messaging program, most of the reason being that I have been trying Google Talk and the MSN Live, which got me thinking. My ultimate messenger would be: multiplatform, open source, easily extendable (plugins?) , skinable (not so important), good logging capability and very light weight.

Just to extend a little on the liteweight comment, just because large harddrives are cheap and everyone seems to have them is NO reason to make applications unnessecarily bloated. Why should a messaging program be over 10mb? Although I admit I do not know how much of this is required protocol/ operational functionality.

Gaim looks like a good option, opensource, cross platform, extendable, portable and cross platform 🙂 will give it a go.

2 Responses to “Instant Messaging”

  1. rick Says:

    Give me a text bro.

  2. halcyon Says:

    I want to stick with gTalk, but no-one really seems to be jumping over >


Leave a Reply

