JavaOne 2006

May 20, 2006

I've always wanted to go to the JavaOne Java developers conference and hope to make it within the next couple of years. This years JavaOne came to an end a few days ago and from what I have been reading there is no doubt it was a huge success. I havn't been following the conference as much as I would have liked over the week so have a bit of catching up to do on the topics and key speakers. There were quite a few topics that gained my interest, and the biggest one at the moment I think is the talk of open sourcing java! What this means to the community I am unsure of though? What did interest me was the talk of better distribution of the JDK , this is something that has annoyed me for a while. What this will mean is that Linux distros will be able to come with the JDK and Java runtime preinstalled, a very good thing 😀

The topics of XML and Java in terms of integration are what I am quite interested in at the moment because it is an area I would like to learn more about. In the past working with XML in Java is not a straight forward as it could be. Many imporvements have been made in this area and I am looking forward to trying them out.

Lately I have been busy working on assignments due in a few weeks, I am developing a content management system for a website using server side java technology as well as a promotional music website in PHP. Both of these a database driven websites and the content management system has no static data, all pages are generated on the fly when called which I think its quite cool. I will continue to develop both of these after I have handed them in as examples of my work. I would like to add features to the content management system that will make it usable for blogging (at the moment it has no commenting ability). I would like to add RSS feed support as well. I'm trying to make them both generate XHTML compliant code too. I'll be posting some screen shots up soon I think , Although I am not a designer! So they could look a bit better!

Leave a Reply

