New Look

July 5, 2006

As you can see I have chosen a new design (theme) which I like much more than the previous, its new its clean and gray is the new black 😛 I’m about 1/2 way through the holidays and think its time to set some goals for the next few months:

  • Improve my Java programming.

This includes gaining a much better understanding of object oriented design and programming, development using patterns and frameworks as well as learning some of the more in depth language features.

I also want to make a basic RSS feed reader to get experience with Java and XML.

  • Set up a Linux server

I will set up a basic Linux server running a web server and mail server and configure it through SSH. This will give me good experience in setting up, configuring and running a Linux server.

  • Learn C#

I want to learn C# and get familiar with the Microsoft .Net Framework. To do this I will be making an XML powered application called NoteThis! (as mentioned in previous posts)

  • Learn Ruby on Rails

From what I have seen of Ruby I am very impressed and believe it will be a great asset for rapid development of web applications / tools. I’d like to set up some kind of tumblelog, interesting websites from my del.icio.us account perhaps …

And I will have my industry project to work on as well, so plenty to keep me busy, and I should be prepared to start my programming career!

Leave a Reply

