Essential Software

July 22, 2006

I’m still yet to format my hard-drive , but I’ve made a list of my most commonly used Windows applications. Mostly so I know what to reinstall as well as to see what I may be missing and to share the apps I find most useful. Here they are (in no order):

  • Notepad++ (Text editor)
  • Juice (Podcasts)
  • NotePad SX (Text editor), notepad replacement
  • AVG Virus
  • AVG Spyware
  • Firefox
  • GAIM
  • Google Talk
  • Rainlendar – Calendar software
  • APACHE
  • Java Development Kit
  • Delphi
  • PHP
  • MYSQL
  • Winamp
  • Songbird
  • foorbar2000
  • VLC
  • iCF
  • CDex
  • VMware
  • Photoshop
  • Picasa
  • Firefox
  • Thunderbird
  • MS Word, Powerpoint

I have also managed to last all this time with never owning a USB Flash drive! The time has definately come to get one, I’ll order one in a few days. I have made a list of what I plan to put on it:

  • Pen Drive
  • CDex
  • portable VLC
  • foorbar2000
  • NotePad SX
  • Portable GAIM
  • Portable Firefox, Thunderbird
  • FoxitReader (PDF reader)

Sorry for the lack of links, Googling the name of what you are interested in is much easier than my adding a URL for each entry!

There are still apps I use regularly that are not listed, but given a fresh computer (or USB Stick) with these applications installed I’ll be happy šŸ™‚

2 Responses to “Essential Software”

  1. halcyon Says:

    you and GAIM >_>

  2. halcyon Says:

    oops, should mention, loving the new layout bro \m/


Leave a Reply

