deviantART turns 6 today

August 8, 2006

0ne of my interests is photography, I do get away from the computer every now and then 🙂 A website I used to frequent was deviantART.com, a community for artists to meet and showcase their work. The community includes art of all forms from traditional to digital, application skins and wallpapers included. It’s been a while since I have used my account though and due to lack of use I have asked for it to be closed, still waiting on that!

I was looking at my friend Tom’s blog today and noticed they had turned 6 today!

The version 5 interface is a welcomed update, I personally just prefer flickr now, but as far as communities go deviantART is worth looking at if you are into art!

Tom’s posts (see links below) are worth a read as they are from the perspective of a regular and successful user.

So happy birthday deviantART!

Happy Bday dA

DeviantART v5

And I’m going to give him a free plug for his work 🙂

http://propagandhi.deviantart.com/ 

3 Responses to “deviantART turns 6 today”

  1. halcyon Says:

    I (and the bulk of the user it would seem) have not welcomed the updates as much, Id prefure the dA staff done something constructive with the site, like making it work well, rather then prettying it up.

    flickR could be great, if there wasnt a 200 image maximum for anyone unwilling to fork money out to yahoo, I knew they where doing something evil, it just took a while to figure out wha it was..

  2. halcyon Says:

    oh also about flickR, its more for snapshots / photography, where as devART is a stronger ART base :), they both have there uses

    peace
    Tom

  3. elevate Says:

    At least you can read their messages now! The old interface was awful for that!


Leave a Reply

