DBMS for basic application data storage

August 19, 2006

An application I am making requires a basic DBMS and it would be ideal if I could have this as a standalone file without having to install mySQL or another service based DBMS on a users computer when it is not necessary. Microsoft Access files definately do the job but I’d like an alternative. All the file needs to do is store the SQL data and provide a DBMS engine. I don’t need any of the visual functions (form creation, etc).

I’ll proberly end up going with OO.o Base 2 due to the simplicity. The other alternatives include: looking for or implementing an XML based storage solution, using an object database to directly save objects, using an API based database engine or as mentioned installing mySQL on the client.

For quick and easy implementation it is much easier to use a datafile, ODBC, and SQL. I’ll install OO.o Base 2 and see what I come up with, still have assignments that I need to get done at the moment though!

Leave a Reply

