Content management system

September 11, 2006

I’ve decided I’m going to go ahead with the porting of the basic content management system I wrote in Java EE to PHP. For a while I decided I wouldn’t due to the flexability of systems such as WordPress but I want to do it to extend my programming knowledge as well as to use as a demonstration of what I can do, as I created it from scratch.

I’m going to start by revising my class diagram and writing the Java classes into PHP classes. This shouldn’t be too big of a deal! I will also be revising the GUI as I didn’t have time to put a good effort into the design before. There are a few bits and pieces I want to add (XML feeds for example) ,so should be quite fun. It will also have no blogging features as this is not the scope or intended use of the system.

I have a couple of other projects on the horizon as well 🙂 Not going to say anything till they are underway but I’m hoping to start making some progress. Stay tuned!

editpost

I’ve also downloaded XAMPP. XAMPP is a package containing Apache 2.2.2, MySQL 5.0.21, PHP 5.1.4, phpMyAdmin 2.8.1, XAMPP Control Panel Version 2.3 and FileZilla FTP Server 0.9.16c and is perfect for portable media (I installed it on my portable hard disk). There are also Perl and Tom Cat add-ons available.

I have a meeting today with some developers for the company I am doing my project for to discuss the requirements and implementation so fingers crossed they like what I have done and agree on the plan of attack 🙂

Leave a Reply

