Time to make a start

September 25, 2006

I’ve been quite busy lately but it’s time to manage my time more effectively so I can get some projects I’ve been wanting to do under way. I definitely work best when I write out a to-do list, and I’m a graphical thinker so doing sketches and screen designs helps me get productive quickly. With that in mind…
My first project is going to be my Java RSS feed reader. I’ve recently started a fresh OS install so need to install a Java IDE, and mySQL. My to do list looks something like this: (very basic)

  • Screen design
  • Download/ Install javaIDE
  • Download/ Install mySQL
  • Create GUI front end
  • Create logic
  • Put it all together

The reason I’ve wanted to make this is because the offerings out don’t exactly fit my needs and it’ll be a fun project. I also have a feature that I don’t think has been incorporated in a feed reader that should add a little more enjoyment to keeping up with feeds! More on that as I develop it! The GUI will be first but I’m very interested in making a complete commandline interface.

2 Responses to “Time to make a start”

  1. halcyon Says:

    what OS you on duder?


Leave a Reply

