Goodbye Flickr and hello new domain

March 25, 2007

Well it looks like the time has finally come, Flickr has been getting more and more bloated and I’ve been using it less and less; the time has come to say goodbye.

The initial plan was to create a photo called flickr dump in my home folder and put all the images in there, then delete my account. The new plan is to combine the new domain I’m getting (hopefully be finalised in the next few days) with a hosting package, an open source image management application and then do the migration. Should be alot of fun!

I’ve been going through a bunch of images on my computer lately and sorting them to try and get some order. I was making good progress until I wanted to put files with the same name in the same directory. The solution to this is to write a script that will add a date time prefix to each photo and then retain the filename afterwards. This should also make searching easier if required at a later date.

I’m going to have a go at this tomorow night as it’s getting late, may be a good time to have a go at phyton!

News on new domain and image re naming script tomorow.

I should also add that doing the migration is a very low priority at the moment so will be keeping my Flickr account fot the time being. I don’t want to loose any of the linked images as they are there to be shared.

Another up comming project is to get a media center going in our lounge, this is something I’m really looking forward to and I’m leaning towards a Linux box with a media center app (havn’t had a good look at whats out) or an XBOX 360. Beauty of the Linux box is I can set up a DNS server as well, then again XBOX 360 is a rather nice console 😀

Also going to have a good sort through my categories tomorow, I’ve decided to use more generic ones to ease usability.

On the (sort of) subject on usability I’m working with a usability expert at work in the next couple of weeks. I’m looking forward to seeing what methodologies and techniques are used as I think It’ll be qutie useful. Regular readers of my blog will know I have a keen interest in GUI design and techniques. See my GUI category for previous posts.

Leave a Reply

